SEED

by greenbamboostudios

I like to think that it has made a difference.

 

I’ve been obsessed with chia seeds recently and have been putting them in everything. From salads to soups to shakes, I do it because the tiny ancient grain promises to boost energy and increase stamina. Its name means strength in the Mayan language.

 

I learn all this from the Bob’s Red Mill packaging that inspires me to try chia in the first place. It’s organic and costs a pricey $9.99 per pound? Of course it has to be great. Right?

 

Chia is a superfood. Meaning that it contains more nutrients per ounce that other types of food. All those extra antioxidants, polyphenols, vitamins and minerals are supposed to keep cholesterol, diabetes and a whole host of other medical concerns at bay.

 

I learn all this from the internet. Where I also find out that chia comes highly endorsed by Doctor Oz AND Oprah! Now I know I’m on to something awesome.

 

Finally, I am told that it absorbs up to 10 times its weight in fluid. I will begin to notice that I stay hydrated over long periods of physical activity and my performance increases dramatically.

 

I learn this from the runners at my gym. They have nice calves so I need no other reasons to put ALL my faith into chia seeds!

 

If a tiny amount of faith, as small as a chia seed, is motivating my health fitness goals, then how much more faith should I place in my spiritual practice?

 

Apparently, the same amount.

 

A mustard seed is about the same size as a chia seed. And Jesus explains that even on this scale, faith makes all the difference in the world.

 

Except that the mustard seed kind of faith needs no additional verification or research. I never have to wonder if it’s really working or yet just another placebo effect of marketing.

 

All I need to do it let it take root and grow into something big, bold and beautiful.

