IN TUNE

by greenbamboostudios

I fall in love immediately.

 

My personal preference is the same for pianos as it is for boyfriends: sound bright and play responsively to my touch. So when we bought the white Nordiska baby grand, I was thrilled that I finally had both a wonderful instrument and an adoring partner in my life.

 

The first time I had the piano tuned after he passed away, I cried.

 

Emotionally, it felt as though I was the one getting the dissonance hammered the shit out of me. Not by the trained hands of my technician, but by the handling of another master.

 

Although a complex science, tuning a piano is fundamentally about compromise. The intervals between strings are adjusted for harmonic synchronicity. Digitally, the resulting wave patterns can be checked with computer-aided programs. However, my guy does his finest work manually and with complete aural accuracy.

 

Father Lord, fix me.

 

I hadn’t been a practicing Christian in my adult life until that day. And at this moment, the Sunday Schooling finally decided to kick in.

 

With frequent playing, pianos should get tuned twice a year. With frequent praying, I’m guessing most of us could keep equal temperament and pitch perfect a lot more often.

