WHEN I CLOSE MY EYES

by greenbamboostudios

“Here is my secret. It is very simple: It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.”

 

The Little Prince | Antoine de Saint Exupéry

 

“You seem like you’re in a whole different place. Where do you go when you close your eyes?”

 

A regular and favorite weekend guest wants to know.

 

I don’t go anywhere. If anything, I’m more present and more aware. It’s a way to focus on the pulse of the room so that my playing will be integrated as an underscore to the atmosphere. I’m phrasing melodic lines to float in and out of conversations. I’m an active participant in the many voices surrounding me.

 

“Why do you close your eyes during your lifts?”

 

My trainer thinks this is a curious idiosyncrasy.

 

I’m mentally preparing a positive mindset. It helps me concentrate on my form. I’m breathing strength into the body parts that are engaged in the work. I’m shutting out any distractions that will hinder the success of the set.

 

But lately, I’ve been closing my eyes more frequently so that I can better hear my calling.

 

It is my job to provide movement by music and I enjoy moving my muscles, but I am not always moved to be as attentive to the Holy Spirit. Many times, the things that I want to do are not the same as the things that I am purposed to do.

 

So I close my eyes and willing silence the incessant inquiries of my own individuality.

 

In that quiet space, I fix my vision “not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” (2 Corinthians 4:18)

 

When I close my eyes, I hope to see more clearly and more essentially with my heart.

