SPARKLE!

by greenbamboostudios

Several members at the gym have affectionately taken to calling me Sparkles. Apparently, as one guy explains, it’s because I don’t sweat, I sparkle.

 

I like it.

 

I love all things bright and shiny.

 

But to sparkle when things get rough and tough? I didn’t know I was doing that until recently. I didn’t know my own strength.

 

It dawned on me that the people that I work out with aren’t impressed by how much I can lift or how many times I can do it. They don’t care what I can press, squat or curl.

 

They’re admiring my determination.

 

In this closed circuit environment, I’m always the enthusiastic first to attempt the extra mile of every exercise. I’ll push out that one more rep. Until I can’t do it anymore. That’s how I know I’m done. To continue progressing, I know I’m supposed to be working to failure.

 

Success in life is a lot like that. I believe God’s grace and power is made perfect in my weakness. “Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses … for when I am weak, then I am strong.” (2 Corinthians 12:9-10)

So that means no more sweating in the face of difficulty. No more sweating the small stuff. No more sweating the big stuff either.

 

These days I don’t shit my pants. I just poop glitter and sequins.

