VOTE

by greenbamboostudios

Much to everyone’s amusement, I opened Tuesday’s set with the gung-ho mega medley of  Battle Hymn of the Republic-Yankee Doodle-My Country ‘Tis of Thee-God Bless America-America the Beautiful.

I point to my I VOTED! DID YOU?? sticker and inform everyone that along with serving on a jury, voting is the only other civic responsibility an American citizen has to perform.

That is, according to the Learn About the United States: Quick Civics Lessons for the Naturalization Test Study Guide, document number M-638 (last revised 07/2011), issued by the US Department of Citizenship and Immigration Services.

Since being sworn in two years ago, patriotic songs have come to  mean so much more to me than a sense of place.

They signify the right and the ability to choose.

So when I participate in the democratic system by voting, I am not just engaging in the external politics of social discourse.

I am also electing to operate from an internal spirit of love rather than fear; joy rather than anger; and acceptance rather than hate.

 

