JUST A LITTLE BIT

by greenbamboostudios

Aretha Franklin came for dinner again.

This was the second time I sat holding in my pee for the better part of two hours and played while she ate.

I bowed r-e-s-p-e-c-t-fully when she entered and again as she left.

Wordlessly, she gave the briefest nods of acknowledgement.

I still have my job so I must have given at the very least, a decent performance.

At times like this, the only saving grace I have is the amount of time I’ve dedicated to practicing and the years of experience from working my craft.

I can’t change who I am on the spot.

I can’t magically have a brand new repertoire.

The only thing I can do is have confidence and conviction in what I know.

That I am in the right place at the right time, equipped with not just a little bit, but the perfect amount of everything I need to physically, spiritually, and emotionally succeed.

 

 

