FLOWER DRUM SONG

by greenbamboostudios

Legend has it that a Chinese empress, in profound vanity, commanded the court musicians, in the dead of winter, to keep on playing until all the plants in her garden had been coaxed by the beautiful melodies to return to full bloom.

I played the traditional folksong that tells this tale for a guest this week, who asked for “something from your native land.”

When I finished, he smilingly tipped me a five, commented, “that tune sounded like a bunch of bullshit,” and walked away.

Because it’s Chinese New Year, no harsh words are to be spoken for the next fourteen days.

So I keep silent, holding on to my serenity with both my hands, for fear that one of them might reach out and slap the stupid ignorance off this man’s face.

I wish I could tell you that I kept silent because the word and love of God resides in my heart, and I was moved by the holy spirit to act likewise in kindness, forgiveness and humility.

We don’t really make resolutions on Chinese New Year either, but if I did, it would be to act righteously for all the right reasons.

 

