PRIX FIXE

by greenbamboostudios

During Restaurant Week, most kitchens downtown offer a three course sampling dinner for a set price as a showcase of the executive chef’s broader culinary vision.

 

The week, which happens twice a year and actually lasts 10 days, is meant to revitalize the city’s economy by encouraging the greater metro-suburban community to keep Detroit in mind for wining and dining options.

 

The house is full and reservations are a definite must.

 

Trouble is, I’ve never seen any of these diners return.

 

And even worse, treasured regular guests stay away until what they dub “amateur hour with the bargain hunters” is over.

 

This is my eleventh Restaurant Week.

 

I’m still smiling and putting my best foot forward.

 

In the hope that I’m actually making a difference, but also because I know life isn’t a set menu.

 

I can’t pick out only the blessings I want to have.

 

Sometimes, I have to taste really bad food before dessert gets served.

 

