PRIDE

by greenbamboostudios

It comes before a fall.

 

It collectively describes a grouping of lions.

 

And during the month of June, it is the LGBT community’s rallying cry in cities word-wide to presence their identities and rights in the social and cultural landscape.

 

This weekend, Detroit celebrates Pride.

 

I can be proud of many things.

 

But lately, it’s the smaller things that have become significant.

 

Like choosing to lift at a slightly lighter load.

 

Even though I know I can lift more, I don’t want to compromise the possibility that I may not be able to enjoy training tomorrow if I exhaust myself today.

 

Like choosing to play a fewer gigs and sets.

 

Even though I know I can play more, I don’t want to compromise the possibility that I may not be able to enjoy playing tomorrow if I exhaust myself today.

 

So I am proud of these lesser things.

 

It’s because in the long run, they are contributing to pride in something much greater.

 

