THE SOUND OF MUSIC

by greenbamboostudios

One night, as I was playing, a man, not embolden by drink, but by his own sheer ignorance, walked up behind me, to the bass register of the keyboard, and randomly hit several inaptly discordant notes.

 

I stopped playing out of shock.

 

“I just wanted to see what that would sound like,” he didn’t quite apologize.

 

I’m glad that I was moved to respond curtly and succinctly:

“It makes it sound like I’m a terrible pianist. That was an incredibly inappropriate thing you just did. Please never do that again.”

 

If I could only concern myself to make every word spoken to be just as pleasant and joyful as when I’m playing, my heart could be blessed with the sound of music, and perhaps, I’ll sing once more.

[ THE SOUND OF MUSIC | FISHER THEATRE | DETROIT | MAY 10-22 ]

