THE PRAYER

by greenbamboostudios

I never wanted to do this wedding.

 

Due to circumstances, the pianist I recommended for the gig, cancelled, and with no other options available to salvage a long-standing professional relationship with the client, I have no other choice but to fill in.

 

The wedding involves two singers and a violin player that the couple has chosen to include.

 

Which means I’ll be playing in many more key signatures than I ordinarily use.

 

Which makes me uncomfortable.

 

In 2 hours, I will be stepping into the Detroit Yacht Club, trusting that as always, I am supposed to be in the right place to sparkle bright, and that I am equipped to do so.

 

But first, I think I’ll practice this version of The Prayer in E-Flat with its direct modulation to A-Flat just one more time.

