REHEARSAL

by greenbamboostudios

When he sees me cart out my keyboard and all its related gear into the garden on hot, humid, Michigan summer afternoon, my Operations Manager asks me what I am doing.

 

I tell him that there is a wedding tomorrow and that the rehearsal for the ceremony is in 15 minutes.

 

“I didn’t think you of all people needed to rehearse,” he responds.

 

I want to tell him that I don’t need to rehearse.

 

But that I show up for these things because I remain critical and distrustful of some of the staff he has hired.

 

And that I would rather put in the extra time and have a beautiful event than have any miscommunication occur on the actual day itself.

 

Instead, I laugh and thank him for the compliment.

 

I’m really rehearsing staying silent on matters that warrant me saying nothing.

